Monday, October 23, 2006

Rogers thumb...

Well this may be a real controversy in Game 2 of the WS.

On their broadcast, Fox just showed a brown substance on the base of Roger's thumb - it clearly wasn't sweat, or a bruise, it looked sticky - perhaps pine tar as McCarver suggested?

Presumably if the Cardinals have someone watching in the clubhouse La Russa will have to ask the umpires to look at his hand in the 2nd inning - though equally if the Tigers have someone watching, they have him washing his hands right now?

The rules of baseball are:

8.02 The pitcher shall not -
  • apply a foreign substance of any kind to the ball;

PENALTY:
For violation of any part of Rules 8.02(a)(2) through (6):
  • The pitcher shall be ejected immediately from the game and shall be suspended automatically for 10 games.
  • If a play follows the violation called by the umpire, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to accept the play. Such election shall be made immediately at the end of the play. However, if the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation.
  • Even though the offense elects to take the play, the violation shall be recognized and the penalties in subsection (a) will still be in effect.
  • The umpire shall be sole judge on whether any portion of this rule has been violated.

Is it a real risk that Rogers is thrown from this game? Or will we never hear anymore about it?

Full rules are available at MLB.com.

==========

Update

Well someone was watching in both dugouts - La Russa clearly asked, Rogers clearly washed his hands - will this go any further?

2 threw a strike:

At 2:21 am, Blogger BrENDa said...

He's a cheater. Straight up. There is no reason that he would wash his hands unless someone told him that the cameras caught it on film. CHEATER!

 
At 10:46 am, Blogger Neil M said...

I doubt he did ask because if he did then the ump would've examined his hand instead of saying 'ere Kenny, that looks a bit dodgy, wash your hands will you?' and he did.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home